Posted by: Adrion Smith | Monday, January 28, 2008

A Tale of Two Pies

It’s Daring Bakers time again.  This month, the gauntlet was thrown down by Jen of the Canadian Baker (you can find the recipe there) blog,  a Lemon Meringue Pie.  I’m not very big on pies but behind the sweet potato pie lemon meringue is my favorite.

The recipe was fairly simple, unfortunately because of this I tried to “free style” my first go round (I always do these challenges twice) and ended up with a good, but extremely tangy…ok tart…ok it made your ears itch pie.  It’s very disturbing to watch your friends eat something, while trying to think of kinds words.  My wife took it work and said her co-workers loved it but I don’t see how.

So the night before “post day” I tried again.  This time actually measuring my zest and lemon juice and the results were very good.  Just the right balance of sweet and tart.

I took it to work because I was being read the riot act every month for doing all this baking and never sharing.  My favorite comment came from Willeen Kelley, who I now and always consider my buddy.

“This taste just like my grandmothers.”

Pie   Wileen

Responses

  1. I’m sure it was good and your being hard on yourself! Challah at your boy is hysterical. Great Job!

  2. Your meringue looks so fluffy and wonderful. I bet it tastes heavenly. Great job!!

  3. It looks wonderful!! And being compared to someone’s grandmother is always a good thing!

  4. You can’t get a better compliment than that! Your pie looks delightful. Congrats on a successful challenge.

  5. There is no higher praise than being told, “This tastes just like my grandmothers.” Good for you! Great pie!

  6. “Just like grandmother’s” sounds like a success to me. Congratulations!

  7. You must have nailed this one!

  8. Adrion sometimes I think a big part of every challenge is just trusting and following the recipe.
    Just like my grandmother’s is the ultimate!!!

  9. True praise, true praise. Congratulations!

  10. That is quite a compliment! Glad the second one turned out to your liking.

  11. Sharing with coworkers is the best! Nice job on the pie!

  12. Awww that’s wonderful, Adrion! I’m so glad the 2nd time was the charm. 😉

    xoxo

  13. Glad to see you finally posted about this event.


Leave a Reply

Categories

