Posted by: Adrion Smith | Monday, November 26, 2007

Challah At Your Boooooyyyyy!!!!

This months DB challenge was titled Tender Potato Bread.

‘Potato Bread!?! That doesn’t sound sweet or gooey!!!’

Yeah, I said the same thing and I must admit that after I read Tanna’s (of My Kitchen in Half Cups) instructions I was a little upset.  I mean, ‘who does she think I am? I’m just some hack who likes to bake and she’s giving me what seem be PRO instructions?’  But, I took a deep breath re-read the instructions, put them down for a couple days, re-re-read them and said to myself, ‘self, stop whinning and get out the food scale!‘.

I took this bread as a challenge to my skills and guess what?  I’m pretty good!!!!

I feel like an Iron Chef because…

Today I have four offerings.

First, the standard Potato Bread loaf.  My son loved this stuff.  I think I only got one piece, everytime I turned around he had another slice.

Loaf

Second, Foccacia.  This, I topped with garlic infused olive oil, fresh rosemary, oregano, basil, and sea salt.

Foccacia

Thrid, Challah!!!!  Yeah, it ain’t the standard and it ain’t pretty but if wanted to use the blog title (thanks Brandon) I needed to make something that somewhat resembled it.

Challah

Last, and the one I’m most proud of because I put a little thought into it, Seafood Calzone’s.  For these, I rolled the potato bread dough into small disks.  While those rested I made a simple béchamel sauce, sautéed some shrimp and added some crab meat that I had left over from the summer.  I scoped a couple of spoonfuls of the mixture on to the rolled dough, topped it with mozzarella, closed them up and baked them for about 15-20 minutes. So good.

Calzones

I have to admit, I had FUN making this bread, and I’m sorry for doubting you Tanna.  The crust is chewy and thick while the inside is consistently pillowy soft.  Great, simply warm with a swear of butter.

You can find the recipe on Tanna’s blog My Kitchen in Half Cups.

Responses

  1. It *was* a fun bread to make – great job!

  2. love the title and your focaccia looks WONDERFUL, i am so going to try to make this again.

  3. Yeeeah, boyeee! Fantastic job! The focaccia looks fantastic, and the seafood calzone sounds like a great idea. I too, have some crab meat hangin’ around my freezer.

    Challah back!

  4. And that is what being a Daring Baker is all about! Pushing ourselves to do something we wouldn’t normally do in a way we wouldn’t normally. Great looking bread!

  5. I agree with you – I loved how how this bread was pillowy soft inside.

    Great work – they’re all beautiful and hunger-inducing.

    Julius from Occasional Baker

  6. I love the seafood calzone and challah.

  7. Hot damn that pocket looked GREAT!

  8. Stuffed with shrimp and crab…now I love that idea.

  9. Seafood Calzone, what a marvellous idea! great job Self!

  10. Your breads all look gorgeous and highly scrumptious! Well done!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  11. They all look wonderful!

  12. Wow! You did a great job! The focaccia ia my favorite but the filled one looks gorgeous too.I haven’t seen too many posts with filled bread. Calzones with besciamella? Sounds so good.
    A Yankee fan never loses faith. We die hard 🙂

  13. I take a slice of foccacia, please! Yummie!

  14. That looks utterly delicious, I mean ALL of it! Zowie. Totally impressed and now curiously peckish 😉

  15. I’ll take some of all 4! Wonderful job!!

  16. Heh – the title definitely justified the bread making. 🙂 Fantastic bread and impressive number of loaves you pulled off.

  17. They all look delicious. Guess I’ll have to make a second batch so I can try more varieties.

  18. Your calzone sounds fabulous! Everything looks simply wonderful and very tasty.

  19. All the breads look scrumptious! The calzones are particularly appetizing! Well done on the challenge!

  20. I’m so glad you’ve discovered the joys of breadbaking! Your bread is beautiful! (P.S. Never doubt Tanna!)

    :o)

  21. Adrion you just made my day. I am so pleased. I love that you didn’t like the idea to begin with. I love the “self, stop whinning “! And you feel like Iron Chef! Kiddo you are good! And I’m sure with you on the calzone – and yours were seafood! That is super!
    Thanks so much for baking with us. It’s OK to doubt when you’ll play like this!!

  22. Hey Adrion!
    I’ll give a “Challah out” to you! Your seafood calzone is a great idea too- great job!
    xoxo
    Gabi

  23. They all look great, but I agree–the seafood calzones look ace!!! Delicious!

  24. Great idea with the calzone! ANd I love the challah as well. Nice job!

  25. Lovely job on your breads. The calzone filled with seafood was tops for me. Great job!

    Natalie @ Gluten A Go Go

  26. Four delicious offerings. I especially like the calzone approach. I’m glad you stepped up to the challenge!

  27. I didn’t try making a calzone, but after seeing yours I’m seriously tempted!


Leave a Reply

Categories

